Bartram Trail High School to host Inaugural 2019 North Florida All-Star Series Volleyball Classic

GAINESVILLE, Fla. (November 20, 2019) — The North Florida All-Star Series Committee presents the inaugural All-Star Volleyball Classic on Saturday, November 23 at Bartram Trail High School in St. Johns County. 


The North and East All-Stars start the day with the opening game at 10 a.m., followed by the South All-Stars and West All-Stars facing off at 1 p.m. The third-place game will follow at 4 p.m. between the losers of the early games, and the championship game between the two earlier winning teams will take place at 7 p.m. 


The North team, which consists of players from Duval, Nassau, and Columbia counties, is coached by Debbie Christian of Christ’s Church Academy in Jacksonville. Christian is assisted by her assistant coach from Christ’s Church Academy, David Schwab. 


Christian led Christ’s Church to a regional final appearance in Class 2A this season, after taking the Eagles to the Class 3A state title in 2017 and state semifinals in 2018. 


One of the leaders for Christ’s Church during this run is middle blocker Julia Mangum, who has signed to play for Liberty University. Mangum will lead the North squad along with Lake City Columbia’s Asherah Collins, who will play in college for UCF. 


Neptune Beach Fletcher, who finished the season 20-5 but missed the Class 6A playoffs, leads the North team with three selections, with outside hitter Morgan Killingsworth along with middle blocker Madison Scott and DS Riley McBride selected. 


The North’s opponent in the opening game is the East All-Stars. The East consists of players from Clay, St. Johns, Flagler, and Volusia counties. 


Bartram Trail’s Lainey Kekic is the head coach for the East. Kekic led the Bears to a 19-9 record and District 1-7A title in 2019. In three seasons at Bartram Trail, Kekic has led the Bears to the state playoffs each time, with a regional finalist finish in 2017. 


Kekic is assisted by St. Augustine Menendez’s Halle Peterson. In her first season at the helm, she led the Falcons to a 16-8 mark and regional semifinal appearance in Class 4A. 


The East squad is balanced with two players each chosen from St. Augustine, Bartram Trail, Keystone Heights, and Middleburg. 

The second game of the day pits the South All-Stars against the All-Stars from the West. 


The South team consists of players from Marion, Citrus, and Lake counties. Ocala Vanguard coach Randy Ewers is the head coach of the South team. 


In three seasons at the helm of the Knights, Ewers has led Vanguard to a Class 7A state championship in 2018 and 5A state runner-up finish this season. 


Ewers is assisted by Clermont East Ridge head coach Mayra Cuebas, who led the Knights to a 21-6 record and District 3-7A championship in 2019. She has guided East Ridge to 89 wins in the last four years with district titles each year, and a trip to the second round of the Class 8A playoffs in 2018. 


The South is led by three players from state runner-up Vanguard, led by outside hitter and Knights team captain Alexa Schmidt. Teammates Re’Na Ashley and Kyndal Kalb join Schmidt on the South squad. 

East Ridge also placed three players on the team, led by setter and University of Texas signee Naomi Cabello. Outside hitter Natalia Dukanovic and middle blocker Madison Hilde also represent the Knights. 


Ocala Forest also placed three players on the South team and Ocala Lake Weir has two representatives. 


The South’s opponent in the second game is the West All-Stars. The West is led by Alachua Santa Fe coach Eric Marshall, who led the Raiders to back-to-back state championship game appearances in the last two years. 


Marshall is assisted by Bell coach Drue Barry, who in his first season as head coach led the Bulldogs to a 27-2 record and second-round playoff appearance in Class 1A this season. Drue Barry took over the Bell program in 2019 from his wife Lisa, who led Bell to the Class 1A state championship game the previous year. 


The West is paced by Gainesville Buchholz outside hitter Kennedy Wade and middle blocker Ella Yazdanpour, who helped lead the Bobcats to a regional final appearance in Class 6A. 


Santa Fe also places two players on the squad with Amelia McCallum and Ramsey Marshall representing the Raiders. 


Branford, which finished this season 22-6 with a loss to eventual Class 1A state runner-up Newberry in a regional final, also places two players on the West team led by UNF signee middle blocker Lachelle Sikes. 


Fans wanting to come and watch all four games can do so starting at 9:30 a.m. on Saturday morning. Tickets are $10 for adults, $5 for students and kids, and under those under the age of 5 are admitted for free. All ticket sales are cash-only. Concessions stands will be open for fans wanting food or drinks all during the event.


For those that are unable to attend, you can watch the third-place and championship games ‘LIVE’ online at via the NFHS Network for a nominal fee of $9.95 for both games. Both games will be archived online at,, and and will be available free after 72-hours.


For more information regarding the North Florida All-Star Series, including all sports sponsored by the North Florida All-Star Series please visit or follow us on social media (Twitter, Facebook & Instagram) at @northflaallstar.


Cameron Fenner, Bishop Kenny
Anna Grace Combs, Trinity Christian (Jacksonville)
Jasmine Nunez, Bishop Snyder
Hallie Roberts, University Christian
Brianna Tucker, West Nassau
Faith Hammond, University Christian
Kylie Vining, Harvest Community
Morgan Killingsworth, Fletcher
Julia Mangum, Christ’s Church Academy
Madison Scott, Fletcher
Sarah Kersten, Bishop Snyder
Riley McBride, Fletcher
Kiersten Connolly, Bishop Kenny
Amaya Williams, Hilliard
Asherah Collins, Columbia
Lauren Wilson, Columbia

Nicole Dorothea, Forest
Natalija Dukanovic, East Ridge
Ella Lipka, St. John Lutheran
Savannah Weaver, Citrus
Tori Watts, Forest
Naomi Cabello, East Ridge
Kasey Permenter, Forest
Madison Hilde, East Ridge
Alexis Sands, Lake Weir
Raine Lynch, Trinity Catholic
Victoria Phillips, Lake Weir
Re’na Ashley, Vanguard
Kyndal Kalb, Vanguard
Alexa Schmidt, Vanguard

Kailey DiPaula, Fleming Island
Emily Loose, Keystone Heights
Mone Gordon, Middleburg
De’jah Johnson, Oakleaf
Anne Messler, St. Augustine
Madison Heskett, Keystone Heights
Shaniece Steer, Ridgeview
Bryanna Parrett, Oakleaf
Tawnee Madden, St. Augustine
Sammy Sicoli, Bartram Trail
Kyla Bailey, Menendez
Mikayla Simmons, Middleburg
Taneja Robinson, Father Lopez
Diana Bierwagen, DeLand
Alysaa Guarino, New Smyrna Beach
Gabby Taveras, Bartram Trail

Jasmyn Solomon, Gainesville
Ceven Kidd, Taylor County
Lachelle Sikes, Branford
Abigail Kelley, Suwannee
Ella Yazdanpour, Buchholz
Rylee Coleman, Newberry
Mikalya Armstrong, Chiefland
Amelia MacCallum, Santa Fe
Ramsey Marshall, Santa Fe
Ashley Spencer, Saint Francis Catholic
Adrianna Saavedra, Branford
Riley Battle, Williston
Jillian Cassube, Bell
Kennedy Wade, Buchholz
Gracie Langford, Trenton
Kylie Stevens, Union County


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *