North Florida All-Star Series Girls Lacrosse Press Release & Rosters

The inaugural North Florida Girls All-Star Lacrosse Classic was set to take place on Saturday, May 16 at a site to be determined.

But like many other sporting events around the country and the world, the COVID-19 pandemic caused a postponement when schools were shut down on March 12.

There was still hope to play later in the summer, but when the pandemic caused schools to have distance learning only for the remainder of the 2019-2020 school year, the Girls Lacrosse Classic was officially canceled.

But we still honor the players and coaches for the eight girls teams who were selected by the North Florida All-Star Classic panel to participate in the inaugural games.

Because of the virus canceling the majority of their season, players were evaluated based on both the 2019 and 2020 seasons.

The eight teams that were scheduled to participate in the inaugural Girls Lacrosse Classic were the North, Northeast, Northwest, Central, Mideast, Midwest, Southwest, and Southeast.

Orlando was added to the North Florida Classic in girls lacrosse, boys lacrosse, and bowling (coming Nov 2020).

The North squad, which consists of entirely of Duval County, was to be led by co-coaches Kara Koolage (Fletcher) and Krista Grabher (Episcopal). Kendall Kelly, Caitlin McDonald, Madison Franklin, and Margaret Paxton were selected for the Senators; while Jewel Hardwick was the lone Eagles player invited from an extremely young state title contender Eagles team.

Joining them were six players from Mandarin, five from Bolles, two from Lee, and individual players from Stanton and Sandalwood.

The top players for the North were attacker Brielle Bouchard (SCAD signee), Lauren McGregor (Warren Wilson College) and Marley Barton (Sewannee College) all from Bolles; as well as a pair of Mandarin players attacker Cadence Barrilleaux and goalie Hope Atkinson, who was named to the all-district team or the 2020 spring watch list.

St. Johns County makes up nearly the entire Northeast team led by Sweet 16 finalist Ponte Vedra; joining them is county rivals Bartram Trail, Creekside, Menendez, and Nease. Megan Jackowiak (Bartram Trail) and Jen Conway (Ponte Vedra) were selected to coach the Northeast team, which consisted of players from St. Johns and Clay counties.

Bartram Trail had four players selected including Oglethorpe signee attacker Ally Moir, defender Kacie Barrett, Florida Tech signee attacker Noelle Heggblod and defender Olivia Szabo. Arch rival Creekside had three players selected including midfielder Cheyenne Smith (15 goals, 9 assists), defender Leah Tyler and midfielder Adrienna Van Soelen (16 goals, 2 assists).

Other impact players selected were Nease attacker Aubreigh Furnal (52 goals, 12 assists), Ponte Vedra midfielder Lexi Johnson (11 goals), Menendez goalie, and USL All-American Angela Ramsey and Flagler Palm Coast attacker Shannon Yaroshyk (14 goals, 7 assists).

The Northwest squad made up of players from Alachua and Marion counties, was to be coached by Lynn Millinoff (Buchholz) and Kayla Cromwell (Santa Fe). Buchholz had eight players selected; while Santa Fe had two players invited.

The Bobcats were led by attacker Allison Cama (48 goals), who missed the entire 2018 season after suffering an ACL injury to being named first-team All-Area in 2019. Other Bobcats selected were Charlotte Trabbic (16 goals, 12 assists), Jolee Bruce (16 goals, 18 assists), Lily Donovan (7 goals, 15 assists), and Carli Smith (17 goals, 8 assists).

Other impact players selected were Oak Hall midfielder Lauren Rogers (35 goals), Ocala Forest attacker Kasey Permenter (40 goals), and Santa Fe attacker Georgia Clark (51 goals), a three-time Gainesville Sun All-Area first-team selection.

Seminole County represents the Central team, which was to be coached by Scott Dean (Oviedo) and Mitch Whittington (Hagerty).

Hagerty, which advanced to 2019 Final Four, had two selections including Palm Beach Atlantic signee and attacker Chloe Gallant (23 goals, 40 assists) and defender Rachel Jackson.

Oviedo had seven girls selected led by attackers Morgan Davis and Abby Coleman, who both scored seven goals apiece in 2020.

Defending state champion Lake Highland Prep had six players selected for the Midwest team, which comprised of East Orlando. Chris Robinson from Lake Highland Prep and Michael Gallo from Winter Park were selected to coach the Mideast squad.

Ohio State signee and goalie Regan Alexander, Florida signee midfielder Jackie Norsworthy (47 goals, 13 assists), High Point signee midfielder Mary Sosebee (22 goals, 30 assists), Ohio State signee defender Riley Alexander, midfielder Sara Kolar (6 goals, 1 assist) and defender Alex Myers (4 goals, 3 assists) were selected from the Highlanders. Joining them are five players from Winter Park, four from Timber Creek, and four from Boone.

Sweet 16 finalist Bishop Moore led the Midwest with nine selections and was rewarded with its coach Kelly Blystone being named one of the two coaches along with Andrea Thomas from First Academy being selected to coach the Midwest.

Apopka, Dr. Phillips, The First Academy, Jones, Olympia, and Wekiva also had players selected for the Midwest team.

The Southeast Region, which is comprised of entirely Brevard County, was to be coached by Alan Clark (Edgewood) and Wayne Struble (Merritt Island).

The Space Coast region was quite spread out with players from Cocoa Beach, Merritt Island, Melbourne, Rockledge, Satellite, Viera, and West Shore.

Maya West (39 goals, 6 assists) and Danielle Dudley (23 goals, 6 goals) both from Edgewood were selected; along with Emalleigh Annis (20 goals), Nadjia Reynolds (18 goals) and Megan Dennis (43 goals) all from Melbourne, Maddie Brake (17 goals, 26 assists) from Merritt Island, Maddy Murawski (20 goals), Tristen Chang (20 goals, 26 assists) both from Viera, Isabel Richards (31 goals, 9 assists) and Mallory Chauvin (21 goals, 3 assists) both from Westshore.

The final region is the Southwest Region, which comprises South Orlando, and was to be coached by Nichole Thorndill (West Orange) and Ann Bomleny (Windermere).

Kate Roth from West Orange (11 goals, 4 assists) along with Taylor Swartz (32 goals, 8 assists), Megan Cooper (9 goals), Taylor Nelson (3 goals), and Kate Boeneman (10 goals) all from Windermere were all selected to play.

Five from Windermere Prep including University of Chicago signee Rebecca Sealy, four from East Ridge including Abby Pak (27 goals, 26 assists) and Yolanda Iglesias (12 goals, 3 assists), four from South Lake including Elyse Kelly (13 goals) and Carly Clapper (8 goals) and two from Celebration including goalie Vivian Spencer, who is committed to Cornell, were also selected.

So that is just some of the talent chosen for the inaugural North Florida Girls Lacrosse All-Star Classic. Unfortunately, the COVID-19 pandemic has had other ideas for our area, country, and our world. But congratulations to all the senior players chosen and good luck to them on graduating and in their future endeavors.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *